Brown & Nicol - Masters Of Piobaireachd vol 8 (CD)

Brown & Nicol - Masters Of Piobaireachd vol

  • N°: 187279069395
  • EAN: CDTRAX 292
€ 10,00 (VAT incl.)
ISO € 15,00

Volume 8 of this highly acclaimed series of original recordings of The Bobs of Balmoral, which consist of Robert U Brown and Robert B Nicol giving instruction on the art of piobaireachd.

When their competing days were over, ‘the Bobs’ began the task of passing their knowledge on to future generations, and a steady stream of pipers beat a path to their Deeside homes. Many were armed with tape recorders, as in the case of Norman Matheson. Norman built up a sizeable collection of taped lessons, particularly of Nicol, and he exchanged copies of these recordings for others made at schools given by the Bobs around the world. A library of their singing and playing was thus accumulated.

The series is mainly intended for instructional purposes but the albums are also of great historic interest and value.


  1. Isabel MacKay
  2. The Lament for The Only Son
  3. The MacKay’s Banner
  4. Chisholm’s Salute
  5. The Bell’s of Perth *
  6. My King Has Landed in Moidart
  7. Grain in Hides and Corn in Sacks
  8. Weighing from Land
  9. The Glen is Mine
  10. The MacLeods’ Short Tune
  11. The Old Men of The Shells
  12. Park Piobaireachd No 1.